The Red Terror

The revolution of 1917 radically changed not only the political situation in the country, but also the structure of the state system. Consequently, the outbreak of the Civil War gave rise to a new punitive system. The first concentration camps began to appear.

Forced Labour camps

As the Civil War came to its end, the concentration camps were mostly eliminated, but this fact did not affect the forced labout camps administrated by the GPU. Constructed in 1923, Solovki prison was the most famous of these camps. It became the forerunner as well as the prototype for the GULAG system.

The Birth of the Gulag

By 1930, the Soviet government set the fundamental legal basis for the establishment of the Gulag. It was exactly the period when the total number of prisoners skyrocketed and reached 2 million by 1938.

Colonization

Throughout these years the prisoners of the Gulag were sent to distant territories such as Taimyr, Chukotka, Kolyma and Vorkuta. They supposed to carry out the reclamation of these uninhabited places. As soos as the prisoners established life there, it was mundatory for them to immediately put into practice the plan of the party – the mining of minerals, primarily coal, tin and gold.

Deportations during World War II

The Gulag prisoners had a very hard time during war, because camps experienced terrible famine in 1941-1942. Nevertheless, in 1942 the railway linking Vorkuta with Moscow was established due to the prisoners hard labour. Thus, Gulag became one of the largest suppliers of coal, oil and tin to the military front.

The Empire and its Collapse

Post war Gulag acquired explicit forms of an empire: secret camps started to appear in large cities like Moscow and Leningrad; prisoners were engaged in all branches of production from sewing gloves and overcoats to the creation of airfields and large factories. However, after the Stalin's death on March 5 1953, the camp system failed - the largest construction projects were curtailed, the camps were disbanded.

Красный террор

Революция 1917 года кардинально изменила обстановку в стране, а также ее структуру. В связи с этим, начавшаяся гражданская война породила новую карательную систему, а именно первые концентрационные лагеря.

Лагеря особого назначения

С окончанием гражданской войны концентрационные лагеря были по большей части ликвидированы, однако это не коснулось лагерей особого назначения при ОГПУ. В 1923 г. был создан самый известный из таких лагерей – Соловецкий лагерь особого назначения, ставший предтечей и прообразом системы ГУЛАГ.

Рождение ГУЛАГа

К 1930 году советское правительство закладывает основную правовую базу для создания ГУЛАГа. Именно в этот период стремительно растет общее число заключенных, достигая 2 миллионов человек к 1938 году.

Колонизация

В эти года заключенные ГУЛАГа направлялись на освоение новых территорий, таких как Таймыр, Чукотка, Воркута и Колыма. Здесь, в до сих пор не обжитых местах, они должны были наладить быт и немедленно приступить к выполнению плана партии – добыче полезных ископаемых, в первую очередь угля, олова и золота.

ГУЛАГ в годы войны

В войну заключенным ГУЛАГа пришлось крайне тяжело, а именно 1941–1942 годы для лагерей стали самыми голодными. В 1942 году была налажена железнодорожная магистраль, связывающая Воркуту с Москвой, и заключенные стали одними из крупнейших поставщиков угля, нефти и олова на фронт.

Империя и её распад

После войны ГУЛАГ приобретает четкие формы империи: секретные лагеря появляются в крупных городах, в Москве и Ленинграде, заключенные заняты во всех отраслях производства, от пошива рукавиц и шинелей до создания аэродромов и крупных комбинатов. Однако вместе со смертью вождя 5 марта 1953 года, лагерная система дала сбой-были свернуты самые крупные стройки, расформированы лагеря.